Alaska’s Oil Production Tax (As of January 2020)

AS 43.55 -Key Provisions

Provision

North Slope

Cook Inlet

Base Tax Rate (applied to
Production Tax Valuel)
43.55.011 (e)

Minimum Tax Floor (applied to

Gross Value at Point of
Production)
43.55.011(1)

Gross Value Reduction
43.55.160 (1) (g)

Per-Taxable-Barrel Credit for
Non-GVR Production.
43.55.024 (j)

Per-Taxable-Barrel Credit for
GVR Production
43.55.024 (i)

Lease Expenditures
Carryforward

Deduction

43.55.165 (p)

Tax Ceiling
15 AAC 55.440 (d)
43.55.011 (k)

35%

Up to 4% of the Gross Value at Point of
Production?. 4% rate applies when the Alaska
North Slope price is more than $25/barrel.
Some credits can apply against minimum.

For new oil, 20% or 30% of gross value
excluded from the Base tax calculation; limited
to first seven years of production; benefit ends
early if the average ANS price exceeds $70 for
any three years.

Sliding scale SO/barrel to $8/barrel. $8 credit
applies when wellhead price is less than $80/
barrel. Cannot be used to reduce tax below the
minimum tax. Cannot be carried forward to
subsequent year.

S5/barrel, no sliding scale. Cannot be carried
forward to subsequent year. When used
alongside non-GVR eligible oil credit, cannot
reduce tax below the minimum tax.-

Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, a company may carry

forward lease expenditures not deducted against
tax, and may apply in future year to reduce liability

to minimum tax, contingent on the production
from the area earned. Carryforwards reduce in
value by one-tenth each year beginning in the
eighth or 11th year after it is earned.

Average 17.7 cents/thousand cubic feet (mcf), for

gas sold in State until 2022.

35%

Average 17.7 cents/thousand cubic feet (mcf),
permanent tax ceiling. $1/barrel, permanent tax
ceiling for Qil.

LPTV: Production Tax Value is the GVPP less Lease Expenditures. Lease Expenditures include capital and operating
expenditures including property tax and other cost allowances allowed by AK statute.
2 GVPP: Gross Value at the Point of Production is non-royalty share of well head value of produced oil.




Provision

Middle Earth

Statewide/Other — Additional provisions

Base Tax Rate
(applied to PTV)

Tax Ceiling
43.55.011 (p)

Capital, Well Lease,
Expenditure Credits

43.55.023 ()18

Lease Expenditures
Carryforward
43.55.165 (p)

Exploration Tax Credits

43.55.025 (b)

Small-Producer Credits
43.55.024 (c)

35%.

4% of gross value for the first seven years of
production, if production begins before 2027.

10% of Qualified Capital Expenditure, 20% of
Well Lease Expenditure

Beginning Jan. 1, 2018, a company may carry for-
ward lease expenditures not deducted against
tax, and may apply in a future year to reduce
liability to zero, contingent on production from
the area earned. Carryforwards reduce in value
beginning in the 8th or 11th year after earned.

30% or 40% for qualifying exploration, expires
Jan. 1, 2022, does not apply to seismic after
Jan.1,2018. Credits can be applied against a
company’s own corporate tax liability or sold to
another company.

Alaska’s Royalty and Other Investment Incentives

e  Royalty modification
e  Exploration licensing

e  Area-wide lease sales and Lease term extension opportunities
e Cook Inlet Discovery Royalty
e  Pre-application meetings with Division of Oil and Gas Staff

Contact:

Division of Oil & Gas, DNR Alaska

550 W. 7th Ave, Suite 1100
Anchorage, AK 99501-3563
Phone: (907) 269-8800
www.dog.dnr.alaska.gov

Gas used in state, other than gas that qualifies
for the 4% of GVPP tax ceiling, is subject to a tax
ceiling of $0.177/Mcf

Up to $12 million per company for first nine
years of production, can apply against minimum
tax; must begin production before May 1, 2016.
Unused credit cannot be carried forward to
subsequent year.
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