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INTRODUCTION 
 
 
Oil and gas lease sales are the initial step in a process that generates nearly 80 percent of the 
state’s income. The Alaska State Legislature has found that “the people of Alaska have an interest 
in the development of the state’s oil and gas resources” and has specified in AS 38.05.180 that the 
commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) prepare a five-year proposed oil 
and gas leasing program. The program is updated annually and is available on the Division of Oil 
and Gas Web site. This document presents DNR’s proposed lease sales for 2007 through 2011. 
 
The Five-Year Oil and Gas Leasing Program provides a stable and predictable schedule of 
proposed lease sales which, if held, could result in the further development of Alaska’s petroleum 
resources. The petroleum industry has come to rely on this program to plan for exploration and 
development expenditures. Business and labor use the program to prepare for resultant economic 
opportunities.   
 
Although the primary purpose of leasing state lands is to provide for oil and gas development and 
the subsequent economic benefits1, the program itself has been a significant revenue source. 
During 2006, 380 lease tracts were sold in six sales, resulting in an estimated $33,293,8452 in 
bonus-bid income to the state. Because the North Slope Areawide and Beaufort Sea Areawide 
lease sales scheduled for October 2005 were postponed, leases for those regions were offered 
twice in 2006 (on March 1, and again on October 25). Alaska Peninsula leases were not offered in 
2006. A report on the results of the 2006 lease sales begins on Page 29.   
 
A brief description of lands included in each sale is found under “State Competitive Sale Areas” 
(Page 68). All lease sales held since 1959 are listed in the “Summary of State Competitive Lease 
Sales” (Page 70).  
 
Sale Areas:  A total of 25 proposed areawide lease sales are scheduled over the next five years, 
with one sale scheduled annually for each of the following areas: Alaska Peninsula, North Slope 
Foothills, Cook Inlet, Beaufort Sea, and North Slope. Fact sheets and maps describing these 
proposed sale areas begin on Page 13.   
 
 

                                                 
1 As a result of oil and gas revenue from bonus bids, rentals, and royalty payments (including 
federal shares), and settlements during Fiscal Year 2006, approximately $1.784 billion was 
deposited into the general fund and $.612 billion into the Permanent Fund and School Fund. 
 
 
 
2 Preliminary results, subject to title and administrative review. 
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AREAWIDE LEASING 
 
 
To achieve stability and predictability in the leasing program, and in response to industry’s 
request for more frequent sales, the state has implemented competitive annual areawide leasing. 
Under areawide leasing, the state annually offers for lease all available state acreage within the 
Alaska Peninsula, North Slope Foothills, Cook Inlet, North Slope, and Beaufort Sea sale areas. 
Conducting annual areawide sales allows companies to fiscally plan for and develop their 
exploration strategies and budgets years in advance. The result is more efficient exploration, 
leading to earlier development. The state’s first areawide sale was conducted on the North Slope 
in June 1998. Since then, the state has conducted 31 areawide sales.  
 
Administrative Process 
 
Areawide leasing necessitated changes to DNR’s administrative process prior to and following a 
sale. Previously, industry was asked to nominate areas to include in a sale, and DNR sought 
public comment on the proposed sale areas being considered for addition to the program. Since 
areawide leasing includes all available state acreage within each geographic region, there is no 
longer a need for industry nominations. Additionally, since the sale area within each region 
remains the same, it is no longer necessary to solicit public comment on the inclusion of these 
lands prior to issuing the five-year schedule. 
 
DNR has divided each sale area into tracts that will remain fixed for future sales. Because of the 
large number of tracts involved, the extent of the state’s ownership interest in these tracts is no 
longer determined prior to a sale. Instead, after a sale, DNR verifies title only for the acreage 
within tracts that receive bids. Should a potential bidder require title or land status information on 
state land for a particular tract prior to the sale, it is the bidder’s responsibility to obtain that 
information from DNR’s public land records. State land records are maintained at the 
department’s Public Information Center, located in Anchorage at 550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1260; 
phone (907) 269-8400; or on its Web site at http://plats.landrecords.info/. A tract may contain 
land that the state cannot legally lease (i.e., land that is part of an existing lease; federal, Native, 
or private land; etc.). For bidding purposes, DNR assigns an estimated acreage figure to each 
tract, which in many cases is greater than the actual acreage available, and the per acre bonus bid 
must reflect that assigned acreage. Once title has been verified, bids are adjusted to reflect the 
actual acreage available and the lease is issued. Depending upon the number of tracts and the 
complexity of the land ownership, it may take several months following the lease sale before all 
of the leases are issued. 
 
The lease sale consists of a public opening and reading of sealed bids received by DNR during 
the time period specified in the sale. The highest qualified bidder on a tract is awarded that lease. 
 
Best Interest Finding Process 
 
In 1996, to facilitate areawide leasing, the Legislature passed legislation establishing that a best 
interest finding developed for a lease sale be valid for 10 years (previously, a finding was good 
for only five years). Once a finding for an area is written, DNR can conduct lease sales in that 
area for 10 years without having to repeat the entire process. However, prior to each subsequent 
sale, DNR is required to solicit information from the public and make a determination on whether 
substantial new information has become available, justifying a supplement to the most recent best 
interest finding. 



 3

 
The planning and execution of an oil and gas lease sale that requires a new best interest finding is 
a lengthy process beginning years before a sale. The process involves the participation of a 
number of state agencies, with DNR serving as the lead, along with federal agencies, industry, 
local communities, environmental organizations, and the public. DNR researches and analyzes 
social, economic, environmental, geological, and geophysical information about a sale area and 
develops a preliminary best interest finding.   
 
A preliminary finding describes the sale area and discusses the potential effects that may occur as 
a result of oil and gas exploration, development, production, and transportation. It also contains 
mitigation measures to be imposed on plans of operation as lease terms designed to reduce or 
eliminate negative effects. The preliminary finding is published at least six months before the sale 
and is followed by a public comment period of at least 60 days. DNR gives public notice of the 
preliminary finding through a public mailing, display ads and legal notices in newspapers, 
postings in local post offices and libraries, and public service announcements.  
 
During the public comment period, DNR may conduct workshops or hold public meetings in one 
or more of the affected communities. Local boroughs and municipalities may also conduct 
hearings, which division personnel attend. Comments received during the comment period help in 
developing a final finding. DNR releases the final finding, including a decision determining 
whether the sale is in the state’s best interests, at least 90 days before a scheduled sale. The final 
finding is also public noticed.  
 
Concurrent with a best interest finding, when a sale involves land within the state’s coastal zone, 
DNR analyzes a proposed lease sale for consistency with the Alaska Coastal Management 
Program (ACMP), including any affected local coastal management plans. The ACMP 
consistency analysis is published with the preliminary finding; the final ACMP consistency 
determination is issued concurrently with the final finding. 
 
When A New Finding Is Not Required: In the years following the issuance of a best interest 
finding (up to 10 years), DNR issues a “Call for New Information” prior to the notice of a lease 
sale. The Call for New Information requests any new information made available since the most 
recent best interest finding or supplement to the best interest finding for that region was 
completed. The Call for New Information is public noticed and interested parties have at least 60 
days to submit new information. Based on the information received, DNR determines whether a 
supplement to the best interest finding is justified. At least 90 days prior to a sale, DNR issues 
either a supplement or a decision that there is no substantial new information requiring a 
supplement. The supplement or finding of no substantial new information are public noticed, 
usually with the notice of the lease sale.  
 
Mitigation measures identified in the best interest finding are included as terms of the lease in all 
sales during the effective period of a finding. A new coastal management consistency review is 
done whenever the commissioner determines that new information or conditions suggest a 
proposed lease sale may no longer be consistent with ACMP standards. 
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LEASING METHODS 
AND  

EXPLORATION INCENTIVE AND TAX CREDIT PROGRAMS 
 
 
 
Leasing Methods: 
 
Alaska has several leasing method options designed to encourage oil and gas exploration and 
maximize state revenue. These methods include combinations of fixed and variable bonus bids, 
royalty shares, and net profit shares. Minimum bids for state leases are generally $5 or $10 per 
acre. Fixed royalty rates are generally 12 1/2 percent or 16 2/3 percent, although others have been 
as high as 20 percent. A sliding scale royalty has also been used on occasion. Lease terms are set 
at five, seven, or 10 years, depending on geographical location. 
 
Exploration Incentive Credit (EIC) and Tax Credit Programs: 
 
AS 38.05.180(i): This statute authorizes the commissioner of the Department of Natural 
Resources to establish an EIC system under which a lessee drilling an exploratory well on state-
owned land may earn credits based upon the footage drilled and the region in which the well is 
located. This EIC must be designated by the commissioner as a lease sale term. Drilling 
information is held confidential for two years. If demonstrated by the lessee as necessary, 
confidentiality may be extended. The statute also provides for an EIC for geophysical work on 
state land, if that work is performed during the two seasons immediately preceding an announced 
lease sale and is on land included within the sale area. The geophysical information must then be 
made public after the sale. Credits are granted by the commissioner for a limited period and may 
be assigned. A credit may not exceed 50 percent of the cost of the drilling or geophysical work. 
Credits may be applied against royalty and rental payments to the state, or taxes payable under 
AS 43.55. Amounts due the Alaska Permanent Fund (AS 37.13.010) are considered before the 
application of credits. 
 
Since the state began offering EICs under this program, 22 exploratory wells qualifying for credit 
have been drilled on state leases. There have been no applications for geophysical EICs. 
 
AS 41.09.010: This program was adopted in 1994, and allows the commissioner of the 
Department of Natural Resources to grant an EIC for exploratory drilling, the drilling of a 
stratigraphic test well, and for geophysical work on land in the state regardless of whether the 
land is state-owned. This program is designed to encourage oil and gas exploration within remote 
parts of the state and to provide a means for the state to obtain exploration data from federal lands 
and certain private lands. As with the first program, credits may be applied against oil and gas 
bonus bids, royalties, and rentals payable to the state, or taxes payable under AS 43.55, or the 
credits may be assigned. Data derived from drilling will be kept confidential for two years, but no 
extensions are allowed. Copies of geophysical data may be shown to interested parties by the 
state but may not be transferred to third parties. Credits may be as high as 50 percent of eligible 
costs if performed on state land, and as high as 25 percent of eligible costs if performed on 
private or federal land. A credit may not exceed $5 million per eligible project, and the total of all 
credits issued under this program may not exceed $30 million. Drilling credits are based upon the 
footage drilled. All activity qualifying for this EIC must be completed by July 1, 2007.   
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AS 43.55.025: This program allows for a production tax credit of 20 percent of the cost of an 
exploratory well if the bottom hole location is three or more miles from the bottom hole location 
of a pre-existing well that was spud more than 150 days, but less than 35 years, prior to the spud 
date of the eligible exploration well, and 20 percent of the cost of an exploratory well if the 
bottom hole location is at least 25 miles from the boundary of any unit. The credits can be 
combined if both criteria are met to total a 40 percent credit. The program also offers seismic 
exploration tax credits of 40 percent of eligible costs for those portions of activities outside of a 
unit. Seismic data qualifying for this credit will be held confidential for 10 years and 30 days. 
This tax credit is transferable. This program expires on July 1, 2007, for the North Slope, and July 
1, 2010, elsewhere. The expenses that qualify for credits under this tax program cannot be 
claimed as qualified capital expenditure under AS 43.55.011 (Petroleum Profits Tax), so an 
expense cannot qualify for multiple credits. 
 
AS 43.020.043: This program was adopted in 2003, and is applicable only to operators and 
working interest owners engaged in exploration for and development of gas resources and 
reserves south of 68 degrees north latitude. The program allows for a 10 percent tax credit 
equivalent of qualified capital investments made after June 30, 2003, and 10 percent of the annual 
cost of activity in the state during each tax year. The total allowable yearly tax credit may not 
exceed 50 percent of the taxpayer’s total tax liability. Unused tax credit may be carried forward 
for up to five years. Credit is transferable only as part of a conveyance, assignment, or transfer of 
the taxpayer’s business. Credit under this program may be used in conjunction with any other 
credit authorized by AS 43.20, but not for tax credit or royalty modification provided under any 
other title. This program expires January 1, 2013.   
 
Nonconventional Gas Incentive: Under AS 38.05.180(n)(2), if the lessee under a gas-only lease 
demonstrates that the potential resources underlying the lease are reasonably estimated to be 
nonconventional gas, the rental payment on the lease will be reduced and the royalty may be 
reduced to 6.25 percent. 
 
Royalty Reduction: The state also allows for royalty reduction under certain circumstances. 
These reductions are explained in AS 38.05.180(f)(5) and AS 38.05.180(j).  
 
As 43.55.011 (Petroleum Profits Tax): In 2006, the Legislature replaced the oil and gas 
production tax with a tax based on oil and gas profits. The new tax regime also includes an 
additional 20 percent tax credit for certain oil- and gas-related expenses. The expenses that 
qualify for credits under this tax program are exclusive of the other EIC programs, so an expense 
cannot qualify for multiple credits. Explorers interested in pursuing these tax credits are 
encouraged to contact the Alaska Department of Revenue for more information on the program. 
In addition, the Commercial Section of the Division of Oil and Gas is available to provide 
information on the application of the program to oil and gas projects.
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QUALIFYING TO APPLY FOR, OBTAIN, OR TRANSFER AN INTEREST, 

PERMIT, OR LEASE RELATING TO OIL AND GAS IN ALASKA 
 
 
 
Who Must File 
 
Every individual, association or partnership, corporation, or person authorized to act on behalf of 
another party must qualify with the Division of Oil and Gas prior to bidding for lease tracts.  
Qualification also must be obtained prior to applying for, obtaining, or transferring interest in a 
permit or lease issued under AS 38.05.135 - 38.05.184. 
 
Where to File 
 
Address any required information or inquiries regarding qualifications to State of Alaska, 
Department of Natural Resources, Division of Oil and Gas, 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 800, 
Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3560.  Hand-carried material should be delivered to the same address.  
 
How to File 
 
The following is a list of the information and documents required when qualifying under 11 AAC 
82.200 - 11 AAC 82.205. Information and documents that have been filed previously and are still 
current may be sufficient to qualify individuals or other entities. 
 

A. Individuals 
 
11 AAC 82.205(a)(2). Individuals must submit a signed, dated statement that includes the 
applicant’s name, address, and telephone number, preferably notarized, attesting that: 
 

The individual has reached the age of majority (in Alaska the age of majority is 18 years, 
except for those who are emancipated earlier by marriage or by court order). 

 
Forms may be obtained from the division upon request or a statement including the necessary 
information may be composed and submitted by an individual. 
 
Any legal representative, guardian, or trustee for an individual must submit a certified copy of the 
court order authorizing the representative to act in that capacity and to fulfill, on behalf of the 
individual, all obligations arising under the lease or permit. The representative must also submit a 
signed statement as to the age of the individual and themselves. 
 
Agents for an individual must submit an original or certified copy of a notarized power of 
attorney instrument authorizing the agent to act on behalf of the individual. 
 

B. Corporations 
 
Corporations must submit: 
 
 1) the current address of the corporation; 
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2) a list of the individuals authorized to act on its behalf with respect to oil and gas 
leasing or permitting; 

 
3) an original or certified copy of a notarized power of attorney authorizing any 

agent who is not a current officer but who has been authorized by the corporation 
to act on its behalf with respect to the mineral specified in the permit or lease; 

 
4) a Certificate of Compliance (Certificate of Good Standing) for those corporations 

qualified to do business in Alaska;  
-or- 

5) if filing for the first time, either a Certificate of Incorporation (Certificate of 
Organization for an LLC) from those corporations which have been incorporated 
in the state of Alaska (also known as “domestic” corporations), or a Certificate of 
Authority (Certificate of Registration for an LLC) from those corporations which 
have been incorporated outside the state of Alaska (also known as “foreign” 
corporations). 

 
Certificates may be purchased online at www.dced.state.ak.us/occ/. 
 
These documents may also be obtained from: 
 
 Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development (DCCED) 
 Attention: Corporations Section 
 9th Floor, State Office Building 
 P. O. Box 110808 
 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0808 
 (907) 465-2530 

e-mail: corporations@commerce.state.ak.us 
  -or- 
 Alaska Department of Commerce and Economic Development 
 Attention: Corporations Section 
 550 W 7th Ave., Suite 1500   
 Anchorage, Alaska 99501 
 (907) 269-8173 
 
Inquiries about incorporating in the state of Alaska, or qualifying as a foreign corporation to do 
business in the state of Alaska should be addressed to personnel at either of the above addresses. 
 

C. Unincorporated Associations 
 
Unincorporated Associations, partnerships or joint ventures must submit: 
 

1) a statement describing the business relationships between members of the 
association, partnership or joint venture; 

 
2) a statement of qualifications for each member of the association, partnership, or 

joint venture (outlined in Section A); 
-and/or- 
 

if some or all of the members are incorporated entities, all information required 
for corporations (described in Section B) must also be submitted; and 
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3) in the case of an agent acting on behalf of an individual, an original or certified 

copy of a notarized power of attorney defining the agent’s authority to sign with 
respect to the mineral specified in the permit or lease on behalf of the 
partnership, association or joint venture. 

 
If still current, material previously filed with the department satisfying all or part of the 
requirements of this section may be incorporated in an application by appropriate reference 
together with a statement as to any material changes or amendments.  
 
Sources 
 
 11 AAC 82.200 
 11 AAC 82.205 
 AS 38.05.020 
 AS 38.05.145(a) 
 
Further Information 

 
Should you have any further questions regarding qualifying for Alaska oil and gas leases, please 
contact the State of Alaska, Department of Natural Resources, Division of Oil and Gas, 550 West 
7th Avenue, Suite 800; Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3560; Phone number (907) 269-8816; or visit 
our website at http://www.dog.dnr.state.ak.us/oil/. 
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EXPLORATION LICENSING  
 
 
Exploration licensing supplements the state’s oil and gas leasing program and encourages oil and 
gas exploration outside of the known oil and gas provinces — the North Slope, Beaufort Sea, 
Cook Inlet, and Alaska Peninsula. The holder of an exploration license has the exclusive right to 
explore an area between 10,000 and 500,000 acres in size for a term of up to 10 years. Rather 
than an upfront bonus payment to the state as is done in conventional leasing, a licensee must 
commit direct expenditures for exploration. If there is competition for a license, the party 
committing the most dollars to exploration is granted the license. Since there are no annual rental 
payments for a license, the only money guaranteed the state is a $1 per acre licensing fee, which 
is paid upon acceptance. The state is, however, provided all of the geological and geophysical 
information acquired by the licensee, and so can gain a better understanding of an area’s resource 
potential. 
 
Once the work commitment is met, the licensee may convert all or a portion of the license area 
into oil and gas leases. Upon conversion, the lessee begins paying the state annual rental fees of 
$3 per acre. Should exploration lead to development and production, the state is entitled to a 
royalty share that cannot be less than 12.5 percent. 
 
Five-Year Licensing Program 
 
The Department of Natural Resources accepts all proposals for consideration that are submitted 
during the month of April of each year, as specified in 11 AAC 82.909. Areas not eligible for 
licensing are specified in AS 38.05.131. 
 

LICENSES IN EFFECT 
 

         Work                   Effective 
Location   Licensee             Acres     Commitment     Date  Term 
Nenana Basin   Andex Resources          482,942   $2,525,000     10/1/2002       7 Yrs  
Susitna Basin No. 1 Forest Oil Corp.            386,207        $2,520,000          11/1/2003     7 Yrs 
Susitna Basin No. 2 Forest Oil Corp.            471,474   $3,000,000     11/1/2003  7 Yrs 

 
 

PROPOSED LICENSE 
 
                 Work      Effective 
Location   Licensee             Acres     Commitment     Date  Term 
Healy Basin  Usibelli Coal Mine Co.       208,630      $500,000     TBD  10 Yrs 
 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                            This page intentionally left blank. 

12




