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STATE  OF  ALASKA  Tony Knowles, Governor 
  
 Department of Natural Resources  550 W. 7th Ave., SUITE 800 
        ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501 
   Division of Oil and Gas 
 
August 22, 2002        Phone: 269-8804 
 

NOTICE 
OF 

NENANA BASIN  
OIL & GAS EXPLORATION LICENSE 

 
 
The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) gives notice under AS 38.05.945(a)(4), that it will issue an 
Oil and Gas Exploration License for the Nenana basin to Andex Resources, L.L.C., with offices in 
Denver and Houston.  The exploration license contains 482,942 acres and is located west of the Parks 
Highway, extending from Anderson to approximately 8 miles south of Minto. Only lands for which the 
state owns the mineral estate are included.  Exploration activities resulting from this offering may affect 
the communities of Fairbanks, Nenana, Anderson and Minto. 
 
Licensing Fee 
The licensee must pay a licensing fee of $1 per acre. 
  
Length of License   
The license will have a primary term of seven (7) years.  
 
Work Commitment 
The licensee must agree to a work commitment of  $2,525,000. 
 
Conversion to Lease  
Upon completion of the work commitment, the licensee may convert all or a portion of the license area 
into oil and gas leases, which will have a primary term of seven (7) years. 
 
Rental 
There is no annual rental fee for an exploration license. Upon conversion to oil and gas leases, an annual 
rental of $3.00 per acre is required. 
 
Royalty  
Lands converted to oil and gas leases have a fixed royalty of twelve and one-half (12.5) percent. 
. 
Lease Forms 
Leases will be executed on Form No. DO&G 2002-01A (Nenana Basin Oil and Gas Exploration License 
Conversion Lease).  
 
Bonding 
Before commencement of operations, an oil and gas bond of a minimum of $10,000 per operation is 
required under 11 AAC 83.160.  As an alternative, a statewide oil and gas bond of a minimum of 
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$500,000 for multiple operations may be filed.  These bonding provisions do not affect the 
commissioner's authority to require additional unusual-risk bonds.  In addition, the Alaska Oil and Gas 
Conservation Commission (AOGCC) requires a bond of at least $100,000 for a single well or a bond of at 
least $200,000 to cover wells statewide before drilling operations will be permitted by AOGCC. The 
Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has its own bonding requirements. 
 
Best Interest Finding  
In support of the Nenana Basin Exploration License, on August 22, 2002 the Director, DO&G, issued a 
final finding and decision under AS 38.05.035(e) and (g), which has the commissioner's concurrence. 
This finding sets forth the facts, policies, and applicable laws upon which the determination was made. 
 
The finding, with a 1:250,000 map of the license area, is available on the division's Website at: 
www.dog.dnr.state.ak.us/oil. Copies of the finding and map are available at the following locations:  

Loussac Public Library in Anchorage  Minto School Library 
 Noel Wien Library in Fairbanks   Tri-Valley School/Community Library in Healy 
 Anderson School/Village Library  Nenana Public library 
 
Copies may also be obtained from the Division of Oil and Gas; 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 800; 
Anchorage, Alaska 99501.  To order, call Pam Rogers at (907) 269-8806. 
 
Stipulations and Mitigation Measures 
AS 38.05.035(e) and the departmental delegation of authority provide the director, DO&G, with the 
authority to impose conditions or limitations in addition to those imposed by law to ensure that the 
disposal best serves the interests of the state.  To meet this requirement, the director has adopted 
Mitigation Measures that impose standards of conduct that must be met.  These measures are deemed 
necessary to protect biological, cultural and archeological resources as well as to mitigate social impacts.  
These measures will be enforced throughout the license period and the term of any oil and gas leases.   
 
Reconsideration and Appeal 
A person who is aggrieved by the decision to issue the exploration license may request the commissioner 
to reconsider under AS 35.05.035(i) and (j). To be eligible an appellant must have meaningfully 
participated in the process by submitting written comments during the prescribed comment period. A 
request for reconsideration must be received by Pat Pourchot, Commissioner; Department of Natural 
Resources; 550 W 7th Ave, Suite 1400; Anchorage, Alaska 99501, or received by FAX at 1-907-269-
8918 by 5:00 p.m. (local time), September 11, 2002. If the commissioner fails to act by September 23, 
2002 the request is considered denied. 
 
A denial is the final administrative decision for purposes of appeal to Superior Court. A person may then 
appeal to Superior Court only if the person was eligible to request, and did request, an administrative 
reconsideration of this decision by the commissioner. An appellant must initiate an appeal within 30 days 
from the date of denial or from the date of distribution of the denial decision, in accordance with the rules 
of court and to the extent permitted by applicable law. 
 
The State of Alaska, DNR, DO&G complies with Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act 1990.  
This Publication will be made available in alternative communication formats upon request.  Please 
contact Pam Rogers at (907) 269-8806 to make any necessary arrangements. 
 

 
Mark D. Myers 
Director 
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